Chapter History
Kappa History
Past Polemarch

About The Chapter

History of Our Chapter

2020 Chapter photo

In June of 2003, brothers James Hinkle and Charles Exum were playing golf when they formed an idea to start an Alumni Chapter in Prince Georges County. They discussed the growing number of brothers moving to the Bowie/Mitchellville MD area. According to the 2000 census, Prince Georges County, Maryland is the wealthiest county in the nation with an African-American majority.

The climate was right for a chapter to service the needs of these brothers moving into the Bowie/Mitchellville area. In addition, there was enormous interest to start an Alumni Chapter for brothers who had no prior affiliation with an Alumni Chapter but were looking to join a chapter close to home.

Charles Exum contacted Anthony B. Hill, Eastern Province Polemarch, who authorized him to take the preliminary steps to establish a chapter. As an initial requirement, the Grand Chapter mandated there be at least 12 Brothers in good financial standing. To meet this minimum requirement, the names of these 12 Brothers were submitted to International Headquarters:

Charles E. Exum, Jr.

Life Member

William E. Crutchfield

Life Member

Wendell O. Moore, PhD

Life Member

Philandieus Bryant

Life Member

James A. Hinkle, PhD

Life Member

Ernest W. Jenkins, Sr

P. Lee Harvey

Life Member

Donjuan L. Williams

Life Member

M. Sammye Miller, PhD

Life Member

John L. Walker, Jr.

Life Member

Mack M. Jenkins

Emmett R. Roberts

Life Member

The petition was submitted along with required information to Grand Chapter. As our Lord would allow, on September 3, 2003 The Grand Board of Directors officially approved the establishment of the Bowie-Mitchellville (MD) Alumni Chapter. The formal chartering ceremony took place on October 4, 2003 with the incoming Povince Polemach Rufus F. Clanzy presiding over the ceremony. Other Kappa dignitaries in attendance were: Elder Watson Diggs Awardee Winfred Mundle and Province Vice Polemarch, John T. Lanier. Charles Exum was installed as the 1st Polemarch.

The following brothers were present at the Chartering Ceremony were given the distinction of Honorary Charter Members:

Dr. John K. Jenkins

Life Member
60 year member
Very first brother to join BMAC

Kevin Taylor

Life Member

Jesse Miller

Life Member

Keeping the Dream Alive has been the Mantra of this Chapter since the beginning.

“Keeping the Dream Alive”

Past Polemarchs

David Janifer


Walter Swindell


William Crutchfield


Craig McCord


P. Lee Harvey


Kevin Taylor


Wendell Moore


Charles Exum Jr.




Hugene Fields

1st Vice Polemarch

Craig Womack

2nd Vice Polemarch

Lawrence Speed

Keeper of Records

Kenrick Roberts

Keeper of the Exchequer

Joe Williams


Scott McPhaull

Lt. Strategus

Myron Waddell


Brett Givens

Board of Directors

Shaun Trapp

Board of Directors

Derek Streeter

Board of Directors

Justin Cobb

Board of Directors

David Janifer

Nominations and Elections Committee Chairman

Brandon Cyrus

Membership Training Academy Chairman

Alex Baker

Reclamation Chairman

Ramon Griffin

Guide Right Chairman

Justin Cobb


Genesis 10 (Spring 2005)

Dixon, Jr., Charles L

McKinney, Kirby J.

Ford, Terrence J.

Ware, John L.

Parker, Darrel K.

Reed, David L.

Kitchings, Jr., John H.

Cooper, Brunson L



Five Souls 1 Dream (Spring 2007)

Napper, III. William T.

Jones, Michael A.

Pittman, John B.

Shirriel, Brian A.




Six Degrees of Komposure (Spring 2009)

Harper, Wilbur D.

Allen, Steven M.

Mauer, James C.

Nixon, Jeffrey A.

Miller, Peter C.

Ballard, Kent D.



4 Diamonds in the Rough (Spring 2010)

Todd, Brandon T.

Williams, Jr., Joe L.

Fields, Hugene T.
Centennial Seven (Spring 2011)

Shields, Justin M.

Wilson, Michael J.

Lester, Damon L.

Russell, Arthur A.

Hellams, Jr., Eugene

Reeves, Terrance J.


4 Delayed Kasualties of Khaos (Fall 2012)

Cyrus, Brandon R.

Smith, Alex C.

Griffin, Ramon G.
Unfinished Business (Spring 2013)

Peebles, Joel R.

Coleman, Rodney E.

Womack, Craig D.


5 Karat Diamonds (Fall 2013)

McRae, Michael P.

Isaac, Sedrick

Woolford, Andre H

Muse, C. Anthony

Williamson, C. Cory




The Ace of Diamonds (Spring 2014)

Sise, Sankung




3 Advocators of A Positive Force (Spring 2016)
The Four Heartbeats - Koming to Kappa (Spring 2018)

Majette, McKinley

Stone, Stewart

Styles, Paul

The Five Guardians of the Dream (Spring 2019)

Maniece, Jerrard

Jackson, Kaleb

Speed, Brandon

3 Agents of the Prototype (Spring 2020)