History of Our Chapter

In June of 2003, brothers James Hinkle and Charles Exum were playing golf when they formed an idea to start an Alumni Chapter in Prince Georges County. They discussed the growing number of brothers moving to the Bowie/Mitchellville MD area. According to the 2000 census, Prince Georges County, Maryland is the wealthiest county in the nation with an African-American majority.

The climate was right for a chapter to service the needs of these brothers moving into the Bowie/Mitchellville area. In addition, there was enormous interest to start an Alumni Chapter for brothers who had no prior affiliation with an Alumni Chapter but were looking to join a chapter close to home.

Charles Exum contacted Anthony B. Hill, Eastern Province Polemarch, who authorized him to take the preliminary steps to establish a chapter. As an initial requirement, the Grand Chapter mandated there be at least 12 Brothers in good financial standing. To meet this minimum requirement, the names of these 12 Brothers were submitted to International Headquarters:

join our chapter
Ernest W. Jenkins
Emmett R. Roberts
Life Member
Mack M. Jenkins
John L. Walker, Jr.
Life Member
M. Sammye Miller, PhD
Life Member
Donjuan L. Williams
Life Member
P. Lee Harvey
Life Member
James A. Hinkle, PhD
Life Member
Philandieus Bryant
Life Member
Wendell O. Moore, PhD
Life Member
William E. Crutchfield
Life Member
Charles E. Exum, Jr.
Life Member

The petition was submitted along with required information to Grand Chapter. As our Lord would allow, on September 3, 2003 The Grand Board of Directors officially approved the establishment of the Bowie-Mitchellville (MD) Alumni Chapter. The formal chartering ceremony took place on October 4, 2003 with the incoming Povince Polemach Rufus F. Clanzy presiding over the ceremony. Other Kappa dignitaries in attendance were: Elder Watson Diggs Awardee Winfred Mundle and Province Vice Polemarch, John T. Lanier. Charles Exum was installed as the 1st Polemarch.

The following brothers were present at the Chartering Ceremony were given the distinction of Honorary Charter Members:

Jesse Miller
Life Member
Kevin Taylor
Life Member
Dr. John K. Jenkins
Life Member
Very First Brother to Join BMAC.

Past Polemarchs

Hugene Fields
David Janifer
Walter Swindell
William Crutchfield
Craig McCord
P. Lee Harvey
Kevin Taylor
Wendell Moore
Charles Exum Jr.


Joe Williams
1st Vice Polemarch
Lawrence Speed
2nd Vice Polemarch
Justin Cobb
Keeper of Records
Kenrick Roberts
Keeper of the Exchequer
Mykel Jones
Kenji Darby
Lt. Strategus
Terrell Garner
Jabari Michael
Board of Directors
Shaun Trapp
Board of Directors
Derek Streeter
Board of Directors
Justin Cobb
Board of Directors
Hugene Fields
Nominations and Elections Committee Chairman
Brandon Cyrus
Membership Training Academy Chairman
Sedrick Isaac
Reclamation Chairman
Wade Blair
Guide Right Chairman
Dwayne Burns